

# **Creating a State of Health**

# Oklahoma Trauma and Emergency Response Advisory Council (OTERAC) Medical Direction and Coordination Committee REGULAR MEETING Wednesday, August 7, 2024 – 10:00 a.m.

Location of Meeting: Oklahoma Department of Transportation Training Center 5307 Northeast 122nd Street • Oklahoma City, OK 73131

The Oklahoma Trauma and Emergency Response Advisory Council meeting notice was posted on the OSDH website located at <a href="https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/emergency-systems/oterac.html">https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/emergency-systems/oterac.html</a> as well as the Secretary of State's website located at <a href="https://www.sos.ok.gov/meetings/legacy/search.aspx">https://www.sos.ok.gov/meetings/legacy/search.aspx</a> on 12/04/2023.

### **Minutes**

	<b>C</b> -	Il to Ondon			Do Batrial Ca	l. Chain
1.		Ill to Order Cody called the meeting to orde			Dr. Patrick Cod	ıy, Chair
2.		oll Call			rown, Administrative A	ssistant
	Sa	mantha Brown took attendance,	and the meeting	g met quorum.		
		Present		Not Presen	t	
		David Behm, DO		Lindsay Da\	/ault, MD	
		James Campbell, DO		David Gear	hart, DO	
		Amanda Celii, MD (arrived a	t 10:09am)			
		Patrick Cody, DO				
		Curtis Knoles, MD				
		Jason McElyea, DO				
		R. William Worden, DO				
3.	Dr St	troductions and Announcements.  Cody asked if there were any in rider as the new EMS Coordinator yatt Hockmeyer will be at OTERA	troductions or a and told the co	innouncements,	and Grace Pelley intro	duced Lori
4.	Αŗ	oproval of Minutes from May 1, 2	024		Dr. Patrick Cod	ly, Chair
		c. Cody asked the committee to		•		
		otion to accept them. Made the	1 <sup>st</sup> motion, and	gave the 2 <sup>nd</sup> . A	roll call vote was take	n and the
	m	motion passed as follows.				
		Ayes	Nays		Abstain	
		David Behm, DO				
		James Campbell, DO				
		Patrick Cody, DO				
		Curtis Knoles, MD				
		Jason McElyea, DO				
		R. William Worden, DO				



Ayes	Nays	Abstain	
David Behm, DO			
James Campbell, DO			
Amanda Celii, MD			
Patrick Cody, DO			
Curtis Knoles, MD			
Jason McElyea, DO			
R. William Worden, DO			

Section	Member	Status
	Assigned	
Section 1 General Assessment & General Supportive Care	Dr. Curtis Knoles	Reviewed
		5/1/2024
Section 2 Airway	Dr. Patrick Cody	Reviewed
		5/1/2024
Section 3 Pulmonary /Respiratory	Dr. Patrick Cody	Reviewed
		5/1/2024
Section 4 Cardiac Arrest	Dr. Curtis Knoles	Reviewed
		5/1/2024
Section 5 Cardiac (Non-Arrest)	Dr. David Caughell	
Section 6 Neurologic/Altered Mental Status	Dr. Charles Olson	Reviewed
		5/1/2024
Section 7 Psychiatric/Behavioral Disorders	Dr. Charles Olson	Reviewed
		5/1/2024
Section 8 Toxicologic/Poisonings	Dr. Bill Worden	Reviewed
		8/7/2024
Section 9 Medical	Dr. David Behm	Partially
		Reviewed up
		to section 9E
		8/7/2024
Section 10 Trauma	Dr. Amanda Celii	
Section 11 Environmental	Dr. David Gearhart	
Section 12 Fire ground-related	Dr. Bill Worden	Reviewed
		8/7/2024



Section 13 Obstetric/Gynecologic	Dr. David Caughell	
Section 14 Response, Scene Issues & Patient	Dr. James Campbell	
Transportation		
Section 15 Mass Casualty /Disaster/Terrorist Events	Dr. David Gearhart	
Section 16 Formulary	Entire Committee	
Section 17 Reserved For Agency Specific Use	Dr. Jason McElyea	
Section 18 Reserved For Agency Specific Use - Pilot		
Programs/Research		
Section 19 Appendices	Dr. Jason McElyea	•

- - February 5, 2025, in Oklahoma City
  - May 7, 2025, in Tulsa
  - August 6, 2025, in Oklahoma City
  - November 5, 2024, in Tulsa
  - The above meetings will start at 10:00 am.

Ms. Pelley presented the potential dates and the committee will wait to decide on the meeting dates until OTERAC makes the decision on their dates, as the committee would like to keep their meeting dates the same as OTERAC

### 8. Public Comment

Dr. Knoles inquired of the two rural member vacancies. Dr. Cody and Dr. Worden provided recommendations. Dr. Worden raised a concern that the state does not have a state medical director, and inquired if there is a possibility of this Committee being the entity that approves state protocols. Discussion to be continued.

9. Next meeting - November 6, 2024, in Tulsa at 1:00 p.m.

## 10. Adjournment

Dr. Cody made a motion to adjourn and was seconded by Dr Campbell. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed as follows.

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
David Behm, DO		
James Campbell, DO (2 <sup>nd</sup> )		
Amanda Celii, MD		
Patrick Cody, DO (1st)		
Curtis Knoles, MD		
Jason McElyea, DO		
R. William Worden, DO		